This is not a post about a train.
This weekend was exhausting! I already told you about the book sale I went to (remember that?), so now you get to hear about some of the other things I did.
Friday night: lawbrary cookout! We employees got together to eat hamburgers and watch 2001: A Space Odyssey. Have you seen it? What an ODD movie. It was hypnotizing, confusing, bizarre, trippy, and spacey, not necessarily in that order. I thought it was AWESOME. After it was over we argued over what it was about and did not reach any conclusions. If you happen to know what in the world it was about, we should talk.
Saturday night: Cody took me to see Where the Wild Things Are. I haven’t gone to a movie in foreverrr. So fun! We sneaked all kinds of little food things into the theater in my purse, including a full bag of popcorn. No one suspected a thing. As for the movie, it was WONDERFUL. I think it was maybe the best movie adaptation of a book I’ve seen, which is impressive since the book is ten sentences long. It was absolutely magical and brought back warm fuzzy memories of how I imagine my childhood to have been. (I am pretty sure it is just pretending to be a kids movie. I probably would have hated it when I was little.) I liked the part with the dog in the desert. Go see it! Or wait till it is released on dvd and get on the waiting list at the library, either one is good.
Sunday afternoon: Three different OU choirs combined to present Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante and requiem mass. The first thing was just the orchestra playing, and I dozed a little bit. But the requiem was magnificent! My favorite part was the Dies Irae part (hey, that was in the second X-Men movie) and the part where they all went “confutatis maledictis” or something. Woohoo! Cody’s favorite part was when the conductor was flailing about during a dramatic section.
Wow, that’s a lot of culture for one weekend. Oh, also I watched Hot Rod last night, but whether or not that counts as culture is up for debate (and in the spirit of cultural relativism, I say yes! It does). Tomorrow is going to be a doozie: I will be on campus from 9 am to 9:30 pm. I have a 15 minute presentation, a study group that I think I may be in charge of, and an exam.
Mom–I watched the Pioneer Woman on the Bonnie Hunt show! It was funny but she seemed nervous. I liked the random audience guy who came down and took some foo

Really, it’s not. I will not mention lobsters at all.

This weekend was exhausting! I already told you about the book sale I went to (remember that?), so now you get to hear about some of the other things I did.

Friday night: lawbrary cookout! We employees got together to eat hamburgers and watch 2001: A Space Odyssey. Have you seen it? What an ODD movie. It was hypnotizing, confusing, bizarre, trippy, and spacey, not necessarily in that order. I thought it was AWESOME. After it was over we argued over what it was about and did not reach any conclusions. If you happen to know what in the world it was about, we should talk.

Saturday night: Cody took me to see Where the Wild Things Are. I haven’t gone to a movie in foreverrr. So fun! We sneaked all kinds of little food things into the theater in my purse, including a full bag of popcorn. No one suspected a thing. As for the movie, it was WONDERFUL. I think it was maybe the best movie adaptation of a book I’ve seen, which is impressive since the book is ten sentences long. It was absolutely magical and brought back warm fuzzy memories of how I imagine my childhood to have been. (I am pretty sure it is just pretending to be a kids movie. I probably would have hated it when I was little.) I liked the part with the dog in the desert. Go see it! Or wait till it is released on dvd and get on the waiting list at the library, either one is good.

Sunday afternoon: Three different OU choirs combined to present Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante and requiem mass. The first thing was just the orchestra playing, and I dozed a little bit. But the requiem was magnificent! My favorite part was the Dies Irae part (hey, that was in the second X-Men movie) and the part where they went “confutatis maledictis” or something. Woohoo! Cody’s favorite part was when the conductor was flailing about during a dramatic section.

Wow, that’s a lot of culture for one weekend. Oh, also I watched Hot Rod last night, but whether or not that counts as culture is up for debate (and in the spirit of cultural relativism, I say yes! It does). Tomorrow is going to be a doozie: I will be on campus from 9 am to 9:30 pm. I have 4 classes, a 15 minute presentation, a study group that I think I may be in charge of, and an exam.

Mom–I watched the Pioneer Woman on the Bonnie Hunt show! It was funny but she seemed nervous. I liked the random audience guy who came down and took some food.

