oatmeal

I took this from flickr. There aren't that many interesting pictures of oatmeal out there.

This morning I was feeling adventurous and had some extra time on my hands, so I thought I would give steel-cut oats a try. When I looked up recipes online, it said the cooking time is about 45 minutes. “No way!” I thought to myself. “I’m too hungry to possibly wait that long.” So I tried the microwave technique. 1/2 cup of oats in 2 cups of water, microwave 4-6 minutes, stir, microwave 4-6 minutes again. What could possibly go wrong? But when the timer went off the first time, I opened the microwave door to an exploding deluge of oats and boiling water! I screamed at the heavens. (It was ok. The microwave needed to be cleaned anyway.)
Since I was still hungry for a horsey breakfast, and more curious about these oats than ever before, I decided to try cooking them the conventional way. I used the same ratio and boiled it for five minutes, then turned the heat down and gave it some time alone. It kept trying to boil over, but I learned my lesson from the microwave episode and caught it in time. I think they simmered for about 20 minutes, if anyone is keeping track.
THEN I ate it! It was delicious. I haven’t had normal oatmeal in a while so I’m not sure it was noticeably better and worth all the heartache it caused, but it was pretty tasty. If you have a lot of time to kill and don’t mind trial-and-error as a cooking strategy, I heartily recommend giving it a try.
