This weather is SO PERFECT! I am enjoying the wireless and wind on the balcony of the journalism building. I looked up why it’s called an “Indian summer” (you’re welcome), and here’s what Wikipedia has to say:
  • Squash and corn were traditionally harvested during this time of year.
  • It may be a way of saying “false summer,” similar to the phrase “Indian giver.” Hmm, sounds racist to me.
  • Raids on European colonies by Indian war parties usually happened in the summer. This one seems a little irrelevant, and I wonder if it was just included because someone was feeling bitter.
I don’t really feel enlightened, do you? Anyway, I absolutely love this weather.
My most recent accomplishment: enrolling! (Prior to that it was seeing a guy walking to class playing a ukelele.) With one swift click of the mouse, I enrolled in Morphology, Senior Essay (my capstone), Non-Western Communication, Chinese Communication, and Israeli Culture Through Film. I am tentatively excited. And also petrified about the Senior Essay. I was expecting the enrollment process to be hellacious (we just switched to a new system, and confusion is rampant among students and faculty alike), but it was completely painless. My advisor, who is also one of my linguistics professors, answered all of my relevant questions and even my irrelevant ones! That is a fascinating topic that I will bore you with right this instant, just because I can.
Right before my advising appointment, Cody and I were discussing whether the word “placebo” can still be used if the person taking it knows it’s a placebo. My thought was that it is a placebo until the person knows what it is, then it suddenly stops being a placebo. “That’s crazy!” you say. “How can something stop being what it is as soon as you know what it is?!” I agree, it’s ridiculous. But no more ridiculous than the word “lap,” which is something you have when you are sitting, but lose as soon as you stand up. Anyway, I asked Dr. Haag about this because she was my semantics professor and knows everything, and she says it is always a placebo, but whether or not you can refer to it as such depends on who is talking and when. For example, the experimenter can call it a placebo as much as they want, and it’s ok because they’re not taking it. The person who takes the placebo can call it a placebo after they take it, but not before. There was more, but that was the idea of what she said. She talked delightedly and at great length, and I got a little lost. If you read this whole paragraph, 1) I’m so sorry, and 2) leave a comment so I know you did; I now have an even greater respect for you.
So happy it’s Thursday! My near future includes:
  • Driving internationals to Walmart.
  • Kraettli the Greatly festivities tonight. Maybe I’ll make some apple crisp. Hmm.
  • Possibly an anime party on Saturday? I don’t even know what all that involves.
  • If the weather stays nice, I will feed some ducks. I don’t know what to feed them though; last year Chacha yelled at me for feeding them bread, apparently it damages their internal organs.
  • Taiwanese dinner with my favorite neighbor, Christine.
  • Frantically studying for a surprise midterm next week.
  • I’m gonna learn some origami. Really! Hold me accountable.
