FUNOLOGY
Let’s talk about my phonology class.
First I will tell you what it is. It is the study of how sounds pattern in language (or something, I still feel pretty shaky about this issue). In my phonetics class last semester, we learned terms to describe every kind of sound that humans use in language. In Phonology, however, we have to forget those terms and learn new terms that DON’T MAKE THAT MUCH SENSE.
Phonology is not the same as Phrenology.
Sometimes I wish it was.
Here is why I don’t like Phonology: because it is UNTRUSTWORTHY. I feel like it’s tricking me. I have a hunch that my professor makes things up just to see if we’ll believe him. It’s like a magic trick! He razzle-dazzles us with words like “spirantization” and “nonconcatenative” and hides pharyngeal fricatives under his hat and tries to get us to think THEY WERE NEVER THERE.
A fun aside: On a midterm in this class, I got some points for angrily scribbling on the extra credit problem. I’m not complaining about that at all, but I think it supports my point that the phonological world does not make sense.

Time for an incoherent rant about my phonology class!

First I will tell you what it is. It is the study of how sounds pattern in language (or something, I still feel pretty shaky about this issue). We have to learn an elaborate (to me) system of features to categorize every speech sound humans make, and our homework involves weekly reports of phonological rules of various languages like Eskimo, Zapotec, Polish, etc.

Phonology is not the same as Phrenology.

(It would be neat if it was though.)

Here is why I don’t like Phonology: because it is UNTRUSTWORTHY. Our professor seems tricky and I think he makes things up just to see if we’ll believe him. It’s like a magic trick! He razzle-dazzles us with words like “spirantization” and “nonconcatenative” and hides pharyngeal fricatives under his hat and tries to get us to think THEY WERE NEVER THERE. Last week he was showing us how to solve a problem, and on one step of the solution, he said, “Now this part is where I put in magic.” My suspicions were confirmed! If only I knew what exactly I don’t understand, then I could seek help. Sigh.

A fun aside: On a midterm in this class, I got some points for angrily scribbling on the extra credit problem. I’m not complaining about that at all, but I think it supports my point that the phonological world does not make sense.

Thanks for letting me vent my frustrations.

