• I finally realized that the gaping hole in my life is my lack of a banjo. Of course! I lent mine to Gordon last year and keep forgetting to get it back. But those days are over. I’m going to get it back and become a banjo fiend.
  • I went on a free music blitz on Amazon. There is some moderately good stuff on there! You should check it out. Since I’m easily distracted by noises, the repetitive and mellow Philip Glass is my new homework soundtrack. It blocks out the noises of the rambunctious law students.
  • Sunday was full of adventurous food. First, Christine (my wonderful Taiwanese neighbor) cooked dinner for Rachel, Cody, and me. She fixed some lo mein with delicious beef and more shrimp than I am comfortable with, and we also had citron tea, which was basically citron jam stirred into water. I liked it. After I left her apartment, I went to Ethnic Dinner #2, at my friend Lily’s apartment. She was fixing French and African food for us, and it was delicious. Lily cooked a veritable cornucopia of tasty food, and it was so colorful and beautiful! I wish I could find a picture.
  • I watched Rear Window! Jimmy Stewart AND Grace Kelly AND Hitchcock–what a combo. It wasn’t as suspenseful as I was expecting, but the fact that I kept expecting suspense made it a little suspenseful. I liked it better than Disturbia, which is an alarmingly (and illegally) similar movie.
  • My family members keep going on interesting trips. Frances went to Nashville for the weekend, and Mom and Dad are just getting back from Charleston and Savannah. We are a well-traveled bunch! To continue the tradition, I’m going home to Kansas for the weekend. Other than spending quality time with my loved ones, I plan to renew my driver’s license and do laundry and THAT IS IT. I can’t wait! So relaxing.
  • I Mod-Podged the back of my phone.
  • I did some school-related things I guess. I had to do a presentation on an article in my Second Language Acquisition class, and the next morning I had a Language & Culture exam. The article presentating went great, and the exam may have gone great or awful, depending on how mad my essay makes the professor.
  • Gingko leaves are pretty in the fall.
  • I am in the middle of an enthralling teriyaki chicken crockpot experiment. Will it be edible? WILL IT?? We can only hope.
  • I spent a full minute this morning trying to remember how to pronounce the word “philosophy.” Then I said it to myself so many times that it sounded incorrect again.
  • Next I spent five minutes trying to remember the word “contiguous” before I finally googled it. It’s such a fun word! Say it out loud.
  • I am procrastinating on writing my report of rule-ordering in Tagalog. (How do you interpret that sentence? Do you read it as “my report of Tagalog rule-ordering” or as “my report in Tagalog, about rule-ordering”?)
  • The anime party was a blast! (I know some of you were skeptical.) I decided anime is a hobby I’m too busy to have; we watched four episodes of Deathnote, which is thirty episodes long! Thirty! But that’s nothing. Keri says a lot of them are 200 episodes long. If I wanted to be an anime fan I would have to give up sleep. Or class! Or both!
  • I googled “origami mittens” and came up with nothing.
