Good news! I am back in my Oklahome. Break was AWESOME. I read a lot, played a lot with the dog, befuddled the cat, watched some assorted nonsense on TV, saw Avatar in 3-D, ate a lot of delicious food, sewed an apron, etc. etc. Now that I’m back, I feel like I am already back in the swing of things, even though things don’t quite have a swing yet.

I’ve already met a few new internationals and instigated a Walmart expedition. Tomorrow there is some kind of Bingo party for the internationals, and I hope to get to go to part of it. I will meet a lot more foreign kids and also dominate at Bingo.

Today was the first day of classes. I had Communication in Contemporary Chinese Contexts, Israeli Culture Through Film, and Morphology. “What on earth is morphology?!” you ask, and you are probably thinking it sounds like a class Harry Potter would take. It’s something linguisticky, and I am hoping to find out exactly what soon. When my professor was “defining” it for us this morning, she said that morphology “is really crunchy and very baroque.” If that somehow provides you with any clarity, PLEASE pass it on to me. Anyway, I think I’m gonna like it a lot.

The weather is odd and awesome. It’s so warm! I’ve been wearing short-sleeved shirts and leaving my sweater at home.

I was going to lend an old textbook to a friend, but it has vanished! (The book, not the friend.) Our apartment is small enough that it is physically impossible to lose something, so I have no idea what happened. This deeply perplexes me. I blame our samurai ghost.

For anyone who knows Milena and is interested in finding out what became of her over the break: she spent New Years in Minnesota with her host family and their pet monkey, spent a few days in Chicago working through a list of landmarks that Frances gave her, and then went to New York City (on a whim, apparently) to meet a friend. I saw pictures, it looks like she had a lot of fun.

I made sweet potato fries and they were delicious! I don’t even like sweet potatoes!

Back to work at the lol library. I like it there. We have another staff cookout planned for this weekend.

I have a good feeling about this semester. I had my doubts at first, and I am still thinking it will be a lot of work. However: Jesus and I will do fine (he’s got my back, says he).

My current obsession: goji raspberry V8 fusion. It’s tasty and good for me!

