The other night I had a terrible dream. Here is the Sparknotes version: Chinese dignitaries were staying in my family’s house and they happened to watch a Youtube video where my friend Annie lit a banana on fire like a candle. They thought it looked pretty cool, so naturally they had to try it, and they burned down the house, killing my dad and a little old lady! It was awful. I cried myself awake, and then typed up a full synopsis (which I cannot bring myself to post here, as it is too depressing). When I called Dad later on that morning to make sure he had not actually been killed in a freak banana fire, he did not answer. The terror! Actually by that point I’m pretty sure I thought it was funny. And I did get to talk to him later, no worries. He even gave me a way to turn bananas into hallucinogens, which is probably a parenting no-no.

Last night I went to Taiwanese Culture Night, which was both fun and enlightening. They had some carnival-type games, and I won a prize at the ring toss (depth perception WIN). There was a presentation which included a kung fu dance with shiny golden fans. I want to learn kung fu. They even fed us dinner! Sigh. It was SO DELICIOUS.

I sat next to one of my friends who is a Chinese student getting his master’s in political science. He provided a running commentary on the political history behind the decorations and costumes, which was quite helpful. Somehow we ended up discussing Jesus, sin, prayer, the gospel, etc. He had a lot of really good questions, and knows more about the New Testament than a lot of Christians do! This conversation lasted through the dance performances (I know, how rude), through the dinner line and then dinner, and then he went to RUF (the campus ministry I go to) with me and we continued our discussion. He has a deep respect for Christianity and faith in general because his grandparents were Christians and seems to be very hungry for truth. Please be praying that his heart would be opened and that he would understand the love and grace of the gospel and the hope that comes from that!

On a completely unrelated note: this website is entertaining if you’ve ever thought it would be fun to control a solar system. You can pick how many planets and moons you want and mess with their orbits, then start it rolling. Mine keep crashing into each other spectacularly or hurtling off into the depths of space, which is one of many reasons why I am not God. See if you can get a binary star system to work, mine keep ending in almost immediate explosion.

