I hope you all had a lovely Easter. I did. I originally planned to journey up to Kansas for the weekend, but ended up staying in Oklahoma in an attempt to Get Stuff Done. This was somewhat of a bummer. Easter is my favorite holiday and I’ve never not been at home for it. Fortunately, many of the things that I love about it (quality family time, the Hallelujah Chorus, the Widor toccata) are not absolutely crucial; the crucial part is that Jesus died and rose again! Christ Jesus who died – more than that, who was raised to life – is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?

Despite the lack of quality family time, it’s been a nice weekend. I ate fried chicken and watched Almost Famous and Sherlock Holmes with friends, camped out at the library and worked on my paper, camped out on a picnic blanket and worked on nothing, went out for Indian food with internationals, watched Synecdoche, New York (it’s the most depressing thing I’ve ever seen), dyed eggs, etc. Rachel’s mom and sister spent the weekend at our apartment, so I got to meet them. They’re friendly people.

Last night my friend John and I were looking up banjos and noise-canceling machines on Craigslist when all of a sudden Lin called to ask if the health center was still open. (He is our quirky Taiwanese friend.) Lin apparently cut his hand on a shattered glass while washing dishes, and was moaning about all the blood. John and I sprung into action and ran over to his apartment to save his life. At this point Lin was feeling braver and started bragging to me about his high tolerance for pain. Then we all went to John’s house because he has a better first aid kit and patched up Lin and gave him candy, and that was that. This experience made me realize a few things: 1) I don’t know any first aid. I’m glad John was there and knew what to do, because my only contribution was to clean the kitchen and reinforce gender stereotypes. 2) I don’t have a first aid kit. Why don’t I have a first aid kit?? Didn’t I used to? I don’t know. 3) Even though I’m good at remaining calm in emergencies, that’s about all I can do. Other than that I am as useful as a bump on a log.

After this adventure, I went on a walk and saw a guy in Kraettli dancing with a dagger! Talk about another accident waiting to happen. (I had my knife with me as well and thought about challenging him to a dance-off, but there’s no way I could have won. He was good.)

Now it’s Monday again. You know what that means – Cake Day! Celebrate responsibly.

