• In case it’s been bothering you, NAFSA stands for “Association of International Educators.” Since when is that kind of acronym-finagling allowed??
  • I get to ride a lot of escalators.
  • My mentor took me out to lunch yesterday. She is a very wonderful lady who works with international students at a university in St. Louis. I got some delicious soup and wise advice for free!
  • Christine (my erstwhile Kraettli neighbor from Taiwan) and I have thermostat issues in our hotel. She wears leggings and a sweatshirt to bed and sleeps under four blankets and is still cold. I sleep in a cotton nightgown under one sheet and still feel like the room is on fire.
  • I saw Salman Rushdie speak yesterday, which was amazing and probably the highlight of my week. Now I just need to read his books.
  • I’m getting a lot of business cards from interesting people and a lot of free pens from organizations about which I don’t give a hoot. But hey, free pens.
  • Oh, I’m also attending interesting sessions. Topics include: advising Middle Eastern students, explaining academic integrity to internationals, and world peace. I’ve also walked out on a few that weren’t helpful, since apparently that is socially acceptable here.
  • I’ve been going to bed at 9 pm every night. Whoa.
  • Tonight Christine and I went out for Gates barbecue, which was splendid! Their classic sauce made my heart sing.
  • Later we went to the Plaza, where we crashed a protest of the Gaza blockade and took pictures in front of seven billion different fountains. These pictures are all on Christine’s camera, and she claims she’ll share them with me. Time will tell.
