What a splendid weekend! Let me tell you some of the things it involved, in vaguely chronological order.

  • Pool party with the International Programs department at my boss’s house. I took gingersnaps, which were a failure in several different ways, but the pool party was fun!
  • Walked around at the nature park after dark (not allowed) and admired the fireflies.
  • Went to the farmers market and flea market with my friend Claire, even though neither of us needed farmers or fleas. I bought a sweet belt. In fact, I am wearing it now. They had goats for sale at the flea market! I seriously considered buying one, but fortunately, I am poor.
  • Librrraaarrryyy
  • I bottled beer with some friends! That was an experience. I was in charge of putting the bottle caps on. I smelled like booze for the rest of the day because I was bad at my job.
  • We crammed seventy billion people into a friend’s living room and watched the USA-Ghana game. I had fun, but some of my friends cried. Later to cheer them up, we started to watch a documentary about the “Homeless World Cup.” I don’t know who thought that would be a pick-me-upper; it just made things worse.
  • I finally got to see Toy Story 3! It was SO GOOD. I recommend it heartily.
  • Pool time at the OU pool. It is conveniently located across the street from my apartment.
  • Last night I went on a walk and played in the sprinklers in the marching band field. I convinced Rachel to come out and join me, and we had a grand old time. I hope to make this part of my daily routine.
